Showing up

image

I told DS last night about my end-of-year ballet show. It’s a lifelong dream to be a ballerina on stage and I have been rehearsing A LOT. Two weeks ago, I sent an e-mail out to my family with the dates and advised them to get back to me as soon as possible so I could book tickets. My dad said he had a business trip and wouldn’t be able to make it. I was bummed because he had known about the trip for a while and never said anything despite giving him dates ages ago. I know he didn’t raise it earlier though because he hates conflict.

I worked through the anger and sadness around this with DS and then remarked that it was funny because I’d also been meaning to invite him to the show for the last 5 or so sessions. I had been putting it off because I expected he would say it was not his policy to attend client functions. Who wants to feel disappointment and rejection around that anyway?! And yet, I knew on some level that if I felt disappointment early enough, it would be easier WHEN my dad ended up disappointing me (I am clearly psychic). Nonetheless, I’ve made peace with the dad issue. I told DS what my husband had joked about when I told him I wanted to invite my therapist to come and see me.

Husband: “You should tell DS that there’ll be a special therapist box in the concert hall. It would be slightly separated from the rest of the audience and have one-way glass so he can see out but no one can see in. Complete anonymity guaranteed. And he can chat with all the other ballerinas’ therapists and swap notes!”

DS and I had a good chuckle about this. ย He then asked me what it would feel like if he came to see me.

My legs were crossed on the couch like a child and I rested my elbows on my legs in thought. When he asked the question, my whole chest filled with energy and my eyes welled up. It was overwhelming. I was trying to pinpoint the emotions. For a short while, I sat there not knowing what to do with the sensory overload.

Eventually I stammered: “It feels like you have touched my heart. Not literally. But metaphorically. I would be touched. And I guess I would feel pride. Yes, I would feel so proud if you were there!”

I explained that being on stage and being “SEEN” was one of the most anxiety-producing situations I could think of. And yet I was finding ways to cope with the anxiety to achieve a dream. He said it took courage to be up there. We chatted about my roles in two of the dances and the costumes I was making with my friend. The one is a glamorous burlesque-style costume, which I described as very revealing. DS said “and powerful”. That made me laugh inside. Note to self to chat to him about why it’s so difficult to see my sexuality as being powerful.

He wrote down the dates of the show and wished me well with the rehearsals. The session felt like it ended on a high note. Thinking about our session afterwards, it dawned on me that I had not actually ended up inviting him. I felt buoyed by our chat and decided to sleep on it. This morning I sent him a very short mail:

Hey DS,

Following on from our chat last night, I have decided I would like to formally invite you to my show. Here are the details:

[I attached the poster]

See you next week,

Jay

——

This is the first non-admin email I have sent DS in the 1.5 years we have been working together. I went with what I was feeling this morning, which was absolute trust in the therapy process. This is my big leap in increasing the intimacy between us. I am letting him into my life. I don’t have expectations about him attending. It would be lovely if he did and that is why I invited him. But if he doesn’t… it feels like I tried. Yes, the childlike parts of me are very twitchy and scared at what is going to happen. But the adult part of me feels good to have initiated something.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Showing up

  1. I loved this post. Your session sounds like it was warm, validating and elevating. Your therapist would probably love to see you on stage and take even greater pride in being a part of your process by seeing you perform. It’s too bad that his ethics will likely prevent him from taking part. I wish I could see you on stage myself. There is a gracefulness even in your writing that I would love to see in person.

    • Jay says:

      Yup, I feel most connected when we interact in this way… Elevating is a good word! Lifts my self-esteem and hope. I get what you are saying about the ethics. I would be happy as long as he communicated that he would have liked to see me ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Thanks for your comment on my writing! I wish I was as graceful in everyday life. Part of my repertoire is tripping on flat surfaces and bumping into things.

  2. I really love the relationship you and DS have. You are so honest with him….it seems that you are able to reach down deep and answer or talk to him with authenticity, and to allow him to really see you. I just think that is really amazing, and I really do and have learned a lot about the therapeutic relationship from reading your blog.

    Also— break a leg at the show!!!!!

    • Jay says:

      Wow I am glad I could have helped you in some way. It’s weird because I was going to say I’ve learned so much from your experiences in therapy! As for the show, I’ll do my best ๐Ÿ™‚ Maybe I will post a few photos with my face blocked out. A big “we’ll see”. xx

  3. […] for the week after next. In the back of my head I am wondering whether he is going to bring up the ballet show invite I e-mailed him a week ago. My body remains on the edge of the seat and ready to respond to any […]

Leave a Reply

