Being held (and the promise of a transitional object)

image

I sit wide-eyed and stiff on the therapy couch, anxious at our imminent separation over the holidays. My body plays “statue statue” and attempts to remain as inconspicuous as possible. I feel very young in this session. While I am sure I’ve shown my young side to DS before, this is the first time I am aware of it. It is the strangest sensation. My mind peeks at my arms and legs and they seem fully-grown. My feet can easily reach the floor if they want to. And yet, I feel small. My lips pout like a toddler. My throat emits a slow, somewhat babyish and unsure voice. Me, but not me.

DS, on the other hand, is exactly the same. He wears one of his checked shirts, unbuttoned over a soft cotton top, jeans, and sandals. His feet are nice. Soft and squishy toes like mine. Re-assuring.

When we started the session, I’d shared another dream I had about him. I was with my mom and sister in his waiting room, and my mom was asking about him. I looked through all his client folders and pulled out one with his information. It was in my handwriting and we looked through it. Out of all the text there, all I could recall seeing was his name and surname. The next folder I pulled out contained a drawing of a bunny rabbit. We found this peculiar and laughed. The scene changed and we sat under a tree in a lane. DS walked past with a bottle of red wine or champagne in his hand. He was on his way to a party and he stopped to greet. I was dressed in a lilac and silver dress with revealing cleavage. He seemed taken aback by my appearance in a good way. I introduced him to my mom and then we chatted while my mom and sister chatted. DS was so relaxed. He seemed spontaneous and uninhibited. I was in awe that he could speak so much! The scene changed again and I was walking into a cottage, with DS leading the way. I was telling him how much I needed him and how scared I was. I sensed he was trying to let me down gently without upsetting me. Not wanting to be confronted for my neediness or held accountable for my behaviour, I pretended to sleepwalk while talking to him. My eyes were closed at times and I held out my hands to guide the way. He stopped in the bathroom with his back to me and said “We  have reached a really important stage in your therapy”. DS seemed to be very conflicted and weighing up the best course of action. Eventually, he invited me to wrap his arms around him from behind. It felt surreal and warm. Then he turned around to face me and brought me closer to his chest, like a parent would with their child. We gazed into each other’s eyes. I felt truly held and safe in that moment.

Tears fall down my cheek and he asks what I am feeling. I am sad and he wants to know why. I figure out that it’s because I know he can never hold me like that. From the dream, the session unfolds into memories of pretending to sleepwalk as a small child so I can spend time with my parents instead of being alone and scared in a dark bedroom. I have a bedtime and am supposed to leave my parents alone after that. I make myself as inconspicuous as possible in front of the television and hope they notice but don’t notice me. Sometimes it works.

“So you were supposed to disappear after 7pm? You were not supposed to exist after that,” DS says gently, more as a statement than a question. I nod and feel the pain of these weighty words. He draws a parallel between me then and the me sitting before him now, present but not able to be fully present.

He doesn’t know that for the last month or so, I’ve been sleeping with a soft toy cow my mom gave me a few years ago. I want to ask him about transitional objects but also fear that if he knows about the cow, he will deem that sufficient. Then I think that obviously it’s not the same because it’s not his. With my mind made up, I shyly ask him if he ever gives his clients something to hold onto during breaks.

“Yes I do. Actually I had been thinking about that for you,” he responds. My eyes widen even further and my heart skips a few beats. He understands. The mood changes in the room and although I am still reserved, excitement pops its head out.

I ask if he has chosen an object and he says yes, a book. The corners of my mouth shoot outwards. Books are special. We often talk about them and I sometimes share with him what I am reading. Has he chosen a specific book yet?

“I have a few in mind,” he says, adding that he is still deciding between fiction or non-fiction and what do I think?

I want to bounce around in my seat in anticipation. “Fiction”. Fiction is personal. I imagine reading the words that his eyes have already sealed onto the page and imbued with meaning just waiting for me to discover. While a book is not soft, it can still be held and even better, loved in words and thought.

It becomes clear he has spotted the ‘Haruki Murakami’ book lying next to me, which I’d bought along to read beforehand. He asks whether I’ve read Murakami’s “The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle” and I reply that it’s my favourite book.

“I would like to read something I haven’t read before. Surprise me.” The kid is feeling cheeky and brave. He takes it well and we agree that he will think about it.

The session comes to a close quietly. I feel shy again but content. My eyes slowly gaze upwards at DS and he smiles. I smile and quickly look down again. A few seconds pass and I look at him again. His eyes radiate and he smiles again. A fun game. For a moment, I am held in mind.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Being held (and the promise of a transitional object)

  1. Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Amazing! And how wonderful he was thinking about a transitional object for you too!
    Books are a great object. Because it soothes by giving you something to do and hold onto at the same time. He sounds really in tune with you. 🙂

  3. Awesome!!!! What a great sesh!

    I love that you love Haruki Murakami, my lovely INFJ sister 🙂
    I was obsessed with 1Q84 and I am still making my way through his new one, “Colorless”

    Transitional objects are so powerful. I talked to my analyst about taking something from her office as well, but I ended up making my own object, actually, and that in itself was super empowering. It showed me that, unbeknownst to me and you, it was always within.

    I am also especially drawn to this: “The next folder I pulled out contained a drawing of a bunny rabbit. We found this peculiar and laughed.”

    Rabbits are one of my strongest totems (after owls) and I associate them deeply with fertility and creativity.

    I feel something is growing within you Jay.

    I am so happy for you.

    • Jay says:

      Thank you for such a thoughtful comment. It’s lovely to have you back! From what I’ve read, it does seem that the person eventually realizes the power is within them and not external objects. While it makes sense cognitively, it does not seem possible… Yet. Right now, anything he gives me has a magical quality to it. I almost imagine little sparkles emanating from these objects!

      It’s so funny you should bring up the rabbit as your totem. After I had the dream, I immediately thought of your dream (it involved an attic if I remember correctly?!). It seems like magic is in the air. Truly grateful to have such inspiring people here xx

  4. Thank you for blogging the experience of psychotherapy–this is so crucial.

    • Jay says:

      And thank you for taking the time to read about my experience and connect. I agree with you… I find there are so many healing aspects to blogging. It creates awareness on the net and also normalizes symptoms and experiences. I hope to one day look back on my blog as a reminder of how much things have changed.

  5. I love this. I’ve been out of the blogging world for a while, but will be back to read more. I love how you capture your experiences in therapy so eloquently!

Leave a Reply

